JD (U) and RJD to contest 100 seats each in Bihar elections, meagre 40 seats for congress

August 12, 2015 17:59
JD (U) and RJD to contest 100 seats each in Bihar elections, meagre 40 seats for congress

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and RJD chief Lalu Prasad have announced that the grand alliance of JD-(U), RJD, Congress and NCP will defeat the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in the coming State Assembly polls. “We are united; there is no difference among us. We will defeat the NDA in the Assembly polls,” Mr. Lalu said at a joint press conference.

Mr. Kumar said that JD-(U) and RJD will contest 100 seats each, the Congress 40 and the NCP remaining three seats in the 243-seat Assembly. “We will reply to Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s remark about the DNA of Nitish Kumar at our joint rally in Patna,” Mr. Prasad said. “Modi has insulted Bihar and Biharis will take revenge,” he said.

“A consensus has been developed on seat sharing between all three parties of the maha gathbandhan,” Nitish Kumar said.

Lalu said a 'Swabhimaan rally' will be held at Gandhi Maidan in Patna on 30th August. Expressing confidence over the 'maha gathbandhan' (grand alliance), the RJD chief said that the BJP will suffer a crushing defeat in the 2015 Bihar polls.

In the last Assembly elections in 2010, the JDU and BJP had contested in 141 and 102 seats respectively. Nitish Kumar broke the alliance with BJP over the projection of Narendra Modi as the prime ministerial candidate for the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

Even when the seat sharing is being announce all are not happy with the share. There is fireworks expected in the near future before elections. Meanwhile the rallies addressed by Modi is attracting unprecedented crowds.

By Premji

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)