MCL: Sourav Ganguly as Libra Legends captain

January 13, 2016 14:53
MCL: Sourav Ganguly as Libra Legends captain

In the upcoming Masters Champions League (MCL), former Indian captain, Sourav Ganguly is announced as the captain and ambassador of Libra Legends.

The match is going to be held in Dubai and Sharjah from January 28th to February 13th. Ganguly will lead a team which will have South African iconic allrounder Jacques Kallis, left-arm spinner Nicky Boje, English spinner Graeme Swann, Aussie speedster Shaun Tait, spinner Brad Hogg, Netherlands allrounder Ryan ten Doeschate, among others.

Reacting to the news, Ganguly excitedly said, “A team which has Kallis and Swann has to be good. There're a lot of current players in my team. So it will be good. It's a good team. It will be fun.”

"We have to find the right combination. We've Michael Lumb who's an opener. Kallis obviously will not open. All teams are good. Hope I reach the roof this time," Ganguly said.

Ganguly recently played for Sachin Blasters in the 3-match series against Warne's Warriors at the Cricket All Stars in the USA.

Reacting to the successful batting in that match, Ganguly said, “I looked at the boundary and told myself, 'Jesus! the boundary looks big, can I clear it...' But when I started hitting strokes it did not feel I had not stopped playing. I was surprised.”

Former India speedster Abey Kuruvilla coached this team, which will also have the likes of Ryan Sidebottom, Michael Lumb, Ian Butler, Sean Ervine and Pakistan's Taufeeq Umar.

MCL is an innovative concept that brings the legends of the game back into action in a T20 format as close to 250 players, who have retired from all formats of International cricket went under the hammer to be part of one of the six franchises in MCL.

Libra Legends Squad: Sourav Ganguly (captain) and Ajay Ratra (both India); Jacques Kallis and Nick Boje (both SA); Graeme Swann, Ryan Sidebottom, Michael Lumb (England); Shaun Tait, Brad Hogg and Marcus North (Australia); Ian Butler (NZ); Sean Ervine (Zimbabwe); Taufeeq Umar (Pakistan); and Ryan ten Doeschate (Netherlands).

By Phani Ch

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)
Tagged Under :
MCL  Sourav Ganguly  Cricket news  Sports news