Andhra Pradesh gets 13 new Districts

January 27, 2022 11:59
Andhra Pradesh gets 13 new Districts

(Image source from:

Andhra Pradesh gets 13 new Districts:- The government of Andhra Pradesh issued a Draft Notification about 13 new districts in the state. There are 13 districts currently and the total will reach 26 very soon. For better administration and development, the government took the move under Section 3 (5) of AP Districts Formation Act, 1974. The state's Chief Secretary Sameer Sharma announced the news and the notification. The state government also invited suggestions from the citizens on the move in every district in 30 days. The new districts will be formed on April 2nd on the eve of Telugu New Year, Ugadi. Andhra Pradesh has 25 Lok Sabha constituencies and each constituency will be made into a district. Araku constituency is divided into two districts.

The two new districts are named Manyam with Parvathipuram as the headquarter and Alluri Sitarama Raju district with Paderu as the headquarter. Other than the existing districts, the new districts formed are Anakapally, Konaseema, Kakinada, Eluru, NTR, Bapatla, Palnadu, Nandyal, Sri Satya Sai, Annamayya and Sri Balaji. The headquarters of East Godavari and West Godavari are shifted to Rajahmundry and Bhimavam respectively. Vijayawada Lok Sabha constituency is named NTR district after the legendary actor and politician. Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister YS Jaganmohan Reddy promised to divide the districts in the process of reorganization but the process got delayed due to the Covid-19 and the Census operations. The AP government has sent the proposed draft for the district Collectors.

(Video Source: Sakshi TV)

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)