Two More Seemandhra MPs Resign

October 21, 2013 18:20
Two More Seemandhra MPs Resign

The Rajahmundry MP Undavalli Arun Kumar and Rajampeta MP Sai Prathap submitted their resignations to the General Secretary of Lok Sabha.  This is for the second time they are submitting their resignations the way Vijayawada MP Rajagopal also submitted his resignation following rejection from the Speaker Meira Kumar treating the resignations of 13 Seemandhra MPs as done under pressure.  

On the rejection of the resignations Lagadapati Rajagopal appealed to Delhi High Court to intervene and get his resignation accepted by the Speaker.  But the High Court expressed its inability to do so.

Although the resignations were submitted in the prescribed format and personally explained to the Speaker that they were not submitted under any pressure but opposing the Cabinet’s decision to go ahead with the process of bifurcation of the State, the Speaker rejected the resignations which as explained by the General Secretary of the Lok Sabha was done in accordance with the provisions in the article 101(3) of the Indian Constitution.


If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)