Nandyal By-poll Today

August 23, 2017 09:11
Nandyal By-poll Today

(Image source from:

Nandyal By-poll Today: With the sudden demise of Bhuma Nagireddy, the by-election has been scheduled to take place today. Both TDP and YSRCP have taken things prestigiously and the whole state has been focused on the election. Both the parties have been quite confident on the victory. The result may indicate the direction of wind for 2019 elections predicts political analysts. YS Jagan is said to have been quite confident and his political strategists Prashant Kishor along with a team of 150 members specially focused on the campaign in the constituency.

Over 2.30 lakh voters are eligible to cast their votes in the by polls. For the first time in the history of the country, the Election Commission is using Voter Verified Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) which will help the voters know to whom they have voted for.  Other than TDP and YSRCP, there are 12 other candidates contesting in the by polls. It is the biggest battle between TDP and YSRCP after the 2014 Assembly elections. Bhuma Nagireddy who passed away is a key politician in Kurnool district and he recently moved back to TDP.

TDP has fielded Bhuma's nephew Brahmananda Reddy and Silpa Chandra Mohan Reddy is contesting from YSRCP. Silpa has been denied ticket by TDP after which he joined YSRCP and is contesting in the elections. A victory for YSRCP will put huge pressure on the leading TDP informed sources. All the TDP leaders including the Chief Minister Nara Chandra Babu Naidu campaigned in the constituency in the recent weeks. Congress party’s candidate Abdul Khader is said to split the Muslim votes which are majority in the constituency.

Drones have been deployed in sensitive areas of the constituency for security measures. The counting will take place on August 28th on which the result will be declared. The cops have been deployed after they located some sensitive areas.

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)
Tagged Under :
Nandyal By-poll  TDP  YSRCP