National Sports Awards List 2017 Released

August 22, 2017 19:45
National Sports Awards List 2017 Released

National Sports Awards List 2017 Released:- The National Sports Awards were announced by the Sports Ministry on 22 August 2017. At a specially organized function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on August 29, 2017, the awardees will receive their awards from the President of India.

Justice C.K. Thakkar (Former Judge Supreme Court of India, Chief Justice of High Court of Himachal and Bombay) head the selection Committee for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Awards. Shri Pullela Gopichand head the selection Committee for Dronacharya Awards and Dhyan Chand Awards.

A cash prize of Rs 7.5 lakh will be received by the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardee, whereas Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and a cash prize of Rs 5 lakh each.

The President gives away awards to sports persons every year. It is categorized as Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, which is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performances in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four years; Arjuna Award, which is given for consistency in outstanding performance for four years; Dronacharya Award is for coaches for producing medal winners at prestigious International sports events; and Dhyan Chand Award for lifetime contribution to sports development.

A large number of nominations were received for these awards this year, which were considered by the Selection Committees consisting of former Olympian, Arjuna Awardees, Dronacharya Awardees, Dhyan Chand Awardees along with sport journalists, experts, commentators and sports administrators. The selection committee after due scrutiny filtered 29 names for the four categories of National Sports Awards.  

Here is the list of National Sports Awards – 2017

(A) Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna 2017

Name of the Awardee

1. Devendra Jhajharia - Para Athlete

2. Sardar Singh - Hockey

(B) Dronacharya Awards 2017

Name of the Awardee

1. Late Dr R. Gandhi - Athletics

2. Heera Nand Kataria - Kabaddi

3. G.S.S.V. Prasad - Badminton (Lifetime)

4. Brij Bhushan Mohanty - Boxing (Lifetime)

5. P.A. Raphel - Hockey (Lifetime)

6. Sanjoy Chakraverthy - Shooting (Lifetime)

7. Roshan Lal - Wrestling (Lifetime)

(C) Arjuna Awards 2017

Name of the Awardees

1. V.J. Surekha – Archery

2. Khushbir Kaur – Athletics

3. Arokia Rajiv – Athletics

4. Prasanthi Singh – Basketball

5. Sub. Laishram Debendro Singh – Boxing

6. Cheteshwar Pujara – Cricket

7. Harmanpreet Kaur – Cricket

8. OinamBembem Devi – Football

9. S.S.P. Chawrasia – Golf

10. S.V. Sunil – Hockey

11. Jasvir Singh – Kabaddi

12. P. N. Prakash – Shooting

13. A. Amalraj Table – Tennis

14. Saketh Myneni – Tennis

15. Satyawart Kadian – Wrestling

16. Mariyappan – Para-Athlete

17. Varun Singh Bhati – Para-Athlete

(D) Dhyan Chand Award

Name of the Awardees

1 . Bhupender Singh – Athletics

2. Syed Shahid Hakim – Football

3. Sumarai Tete – Hockey


If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)