Sania Mirza and Martina Hingis as world champions

December 23, 2015 13:59
Sania Mirza and Martina Hingis as world champions

In recognition of their stupendous success in season 2015, Sania Mirza and Martina Hingis, were named as Women's Doubles World Champions by the International Tennis Federation (ITF), just a while.

In 2000, Hingis was named as the world champion and again after 15 years, it is now, she got this huge credit. In March of this year, Sania Mirza and Hingis have joined the forces, but proved a force to be reckoned with in 2015, winning two Grand Slam titles at Wimbledon and the US Open, and seven further tournaments.

From the beginning of the US Open, the duo won their last 22 matches, through wins in Asia at Guangzhou, Beijing, Wuhan, and the WTA Finals, thus ending the year with a 55-7 record.

Reacting after the award was declared, Sania said, “I am very honored to receive this award from the ITF after what has been a great year for me and Martina. It is incredible that we have achieved so much in such a short time playing together. I am grateful to everyone that has helped me throughout my career and I hope that my success can inspire other girls in India.”

On the other hand, even Hingis expressed her happiness to the media, saying, “It is a great honor to be named ITF Women's Doubles World Champions. Sania and I have enjoyed every minute of the season and we hope to continue in 2016 in the same fashion. We are set to join a long list of champions and it is a privilege to be recognized alongside them.”

Not only Sania and Hingis, the ITF even declared Serena Williams and Novak Djokovic, also as the World Champions of the year. While, Williams received this credit for the sixth time, it is the fifth time for Djokovic to enjoy the tag of world champion.

By Phani Ch

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)
Tagged Under :
Sania Mirza  ITF  Tennis news  sports news