SRH beats RCB, wins first IPL title

May 30, 2016 11:01
SRH beats RCB, wins first IPL title

Sunrisers Hyderabad won over Royal Challengers Bangalore last night, with the nail biting eight-run victory to win the IPL title, at M Chinnaswamy Stadium on Sunday.

With the target of 209, SRH gave, RCB fell short of just 8 runs, ending up at 200/7, in their allotted 20 overs and thus secured the 3rd defeat in the 3 finals.

Not disappointing the audience, all the three star players in RCB- Gayle, Kohli and AB de Villiers played well. Gayle to reach his 76 out of 38 balls, had eight sixes and four boundaries, putting on 114 runs for the opening wicket with Kohli in 10.3 overs.

Kohli too contributed 54, but the failure of de Villiers and wickets at regular intervals in the latter stage left them short.

David Warner, for Hyderabad, has scored his 9th fifty of this IPL season and became the second batsman, after Kohli, to score above 800 in one IPL season. He contributed 69 off 38 balls, which included three sixes and eight boundaries, and thus totaled to 848. But Kohli failed to breach 1000-run mark to finish at 973.

SRH opted to bat first, by giving the team a fiery start with his opening partner Shikhar Dhawan, who scored 28 off 25 balls, with a six and three fours.  

Brief scores: Sunrisers Hyderabad 208/7 (Warner 69, Cutting 39*; Jordan 3/45) beat Royal Challengers Bangalore 200/7 (Gayle 76, Kohli 54; Cutting 2/35) by eight runs.
By Phani Ch

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)
Tagged Under :
IPL  cricket news  sports news