Five New Zealanders in ICC World Cup XI

March 30, 2015 12:20
Five New Zealanders in ICC World Cup XI

Team India suffered another heartbreak after the World Cup 2015 as none of the team members were part of ICC team of the tournament. Mahendra Singh Dhoni's men reached the semifinal stage where they lost to eventual champions Australia.

According to ICC's press release, the names of Mohammed Shami (17 wickets), Umesh Yadav (18 wickets) and Ravichandran Ashwin (13 wickets) were discussed but none could make the final cut.
Umesh finished as the third-highest wicket-taker of the tournament behind Mitchell Starc and Trent Boult (22 wickets each).

New Zealand's flamboyant captain was named the ICC team's skipper while the top two leading scorers - Martin Guptill, Kumar Sangakkara - constituted the top-order alongside Australia's in-form man Steven Smith and South African captain AB de Villiers.

The big-hitting duo of Glenn Maxwell and Corey Anderson made up the middle-order while the Kiwi veteran Daniel Vettori was the lone spinner.

Among the quicks, man-of-the-tournament Starc, Kiwi left-arm pacer Boult and South Africa's Morne Morkel were included. Zimbabwe's Brendan Taylor was named the 12th man.

ICC team of World Cup 2015: Brendon McCullum (c), Sangakkara, Smith, De Villiers, Maxwell, Corey Anderson, Vettori, Starc, Boult, Morkel, Brendan Taylor (12th man)



- Manohar

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)