BJP Wins 12 Out Of 15 Seats in Karnataka Bypolls

December 09, 2019 14:16
BJP Wins 12 Out Of 15 Seats in Karnataka Bypolls

(Image source from:

BJP Wins 12 Out Of 15 Seats in Karnataka Bypolls:- The results for the Karnataka bypolls are out today and the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 12 out of the 15 seats which went for elections. Congress just managed to win two seats while Janata Dal Secular (JDS) had no victory. The other seat was won by an independent candidate who happens to be a BJP rebel. BJP has 105 legislators in the Assembly house and it also has the support of an independent MLA. Their total strength is 106 and they need to win six out of 15 seats to ensure good majority in the house.

Karnataka Chief minister Yediyurappa is set to consolidate his power after sweeping 12 seats in the bypolls. Yediyurappa is all set to complete three and half years of the term. 17 MLAs (14 from Congress and 3 from JDS) submitted their resignations to join BJP. Here are the list of winners in the bypolls along with their constituencies:


K R Pet – Narayana Gowda
Chikkaballapura - Dr Sudharkar
Gokak - Ramesh Jarakiholi
Kagwad – Shrimanth Patil
Athani – Mahesh Kumathalli
KR Puram – Byrathi Basavaraj
Ranebennur – Arun Kumar
Yellapur - Shivram Hebbar
Mahalakshmi Layout – K Gopalaiah
Yeshwantpur – S T Somashekar
Vijayanagar – Anand Singh
Hirekerur - B C Patil


Hunsuru – H P Manjunath
Shivaji Nagar - Rizwan Arshad


Hoskote - Sharat Bache Gowda

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)
Tagged Under :
Karnataka bypolls  BJP  Congress