J&K and Ladakh to be Separate Union Territories

August 05, 2019 13:21
J&K and Ladakh to be Separate Union Territories

(Image source from: Twitter.com/ANI)

J&K and Ladakh to be Separate Union Territories:- With huge high tension mounted across Jammu and Kashmir, the Centre took a surprising move today and decided to repeal Article 370 of the constitution which grants special status for Jammu and Kashmir. While BJP called it a historic move, the opposition parties slammed the Centre for the move. The Centre decided to bifurcate the state into two union territories: Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh. While Jammu and Kashmir will have a legislature, Ladakh will have no legislature.

Three of Jammu and Kashmir's most prominent politicians - Mehbooba Mufti, Omar Abdullah and Sajjad Lone are under house arrest because of the terror situations in Jammu and Kashmir. Internet and mobile services have been banned in the state and 144 section has been imposed. Former Finance Minister Arun Jaitley hailed the government's decision to remove Article 370 and showered praises at PM and Shah for 'correcting a historical blunder'. Union Home Minister Amit Shah said the UT in Ladakh will have no legislature like Chandigarh. Amit Shah introduced the Jammu and Kashmir reorganization bill.

(Video Source: TV9 Telugu Live)

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)